Why Police Shootings are State-Sanctioned Violence

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

I haven’t commented in-depth about the police shootings in African American communities on this blog. However, for today’s post I don’t think I can “escape” from that world, as I thought about the footage from Oklahoma’s and North Carolina’s shootings.

I did a post a few months ago about some questions I get asked as an American living abroad, and one of the things that British, Europeans, and Africans do not understand is our gun culture and hence, gun violence. They see the two as explicitly linked (available guns = mass shootings), and while I have given some rationale for our gun culture, I cannot find a positive rationale for police shootings of unarmed victims. This is when the discussion goes beyond the topic of gun culture into State-sanctioned violence.

There is wide use for this terminology, however I am specifically speaking of the legacy of police-community relations in African…

View original post 1,005 more words

Leave a Reply

